How can an abuser discover your internet activities?

Take a few minutes to read the information below and take steps to increase your safety when visiting our website.

As a rule, internet browsers will save certain things as you surf the internet. This includes images from websites visited, information entered into search engines and a trail (history) that reveals the sites you have visited. Follow the instructions below to reduce the chances of someone finding out that you have visited the Arch website.

All web browsers have a private browsing option. This won’t stop online services from seeing what you do, but it will leave no trace of your activity on your computer (no history, web cache or anything else)

To set up private browsing follow the steps below.

If you are using Internet Explorer: Go to – Safety – Tools – InPrivate Browsing.

If you are using Firefox: Click the Menu button with three horizontal lines and select New Private Window.

If you are using Chrome: Click the Menu button with three horizontal lines and select New Incognito Window.

Similar options can be found in Opera and Safari.

It’s also best to double check that nothing has been stored by taking the following the steps:

If you are using Internet Explorer: Click on the Tools menu and select Internet Options.

On the General page, under Temporary Internet Files, click on Delete Cookies and then OK.

Click on Delete Files, put a tick in the box labelled Delete all offline content and click OK.

Under History, click on Clear History and then OK.

Now look at the top of the window and click on the Content tab, select AutoComplete and finally Clear Forms.

If you are using Firefox: Click on Tools and then Options then click on Privacy.

Click on the Clear button next to Cache and Saved Form Information.

Internet browsers also keep a record of all the pages you visit. This is known as a history.

To delete history for Internet Explorer and Firefox hold down the Ctrl key on the keyboard, then press the H key (Crtl, Alt and H for Opera). Find any entries that say www.archnorthstaffs.org.uk, right click and choose Delete.

If an abuser sends you threatening or harassing email messages you can print them and save them as evidence of this abuse. Any email you have previously sent will be stored in Sent Items. If you started an email but didn’t finish it, it might be in your Drafts folder. If you reply to any email, the original message will probably be in the body of the message – print and then delete the email if you don’t want anyone to see your original message.

When you delete an item in any email program (Outlook Express, Outlook, etc) it doesn’t really delete the item – it moves the item to a folder called Deleted Items. You have to delete the items in deleted items separately. Right click on items within the Deleted Items folder to delete individual items.

Toolbars like Google, AOL and Yahoo keep a record of the search words you have typed into the toolbar search box. To delete all the search words you have typed, you will need to check the individual instructions for each type of toolbar. For the Google toolbar all you need to do is click on the Google icon, and choose Clear Search History.
The red Quickly Leave This Site button on the right of the Arch website will quickly send you to the Google search engine but you will still need to delete your history cover your tracks.
If you do not use a password to log on to your computer, someone else will be able to access your email and track your internet usage. The safest way to find information on the internet, would be at a local library, a friend’s house, or at work.

Arch domestic abuse helpline
01782 205500
(10.00am – 3.00pm, Monday to Friday)

Arch domestic abuse enquiry line
01782 222421
(8.30am – 5.30pm, Monday to Friday)

National 24 hour domestic violence helpline
0808 2000 247